I seriously do love brunch. What a fun meal – is it breakfast? Is it lunch? Anything goes. Last weekend was the second annual Myrick Easter Egg Hunt and brunch, and I have to admit, I wasn’t sure that it was all going to come together. Work has been keeping me so busy that I really didn’t have a lot of time to plan this out. I think it all came together beautifully though and got me super excited for spring. Plus, I got to see my little guy in a bow tie which always makes my day.

IMG_7871

I kept decor simple (more out of necessity than actual planning, but hey), with some beautiful flowers…

IMG_7870

IMG_7868

 

and artwork by my little guy (these little potted plants and “fork tulips” doubled as decor during brunch and gifts for some of the guests to take home).

This awesome velvet, embroidered banner from Target ($6.99!!!)…

 

IMG_7869

 

And these adorable egg candles (Source: Punchbowl)

IMG_7867

I went even simpler than the original instructions by cracking the egg into uneven halves and placing the larger half into the egg cups (which I got on Amazon). Then, because I simply didn’t have the extra 5-10 minutes it would have taken me to melt and pour the wax and arrange the wick, I bough round (we think floating) votives that fit perfectly into the egg. These babies burned for close to 7 hours , and they looked absolutely beautiful on the tables.

For food, we did some great breakfast dishes, such as Chicken Sausage Egg “Nests” (omitting the bacon to save a few calories), Blueberry Muffin Tops (they tasted great, but turned out more blue and not as pretty as the picture on the website),

IMG_7866

 

and Whole Wheat Pancake Kabobs (sans Nutella because I don’t like it and wheat pancakes because they are delicious).

 

For the lunch portion, we had some great options too. Zucchini noodles are my new favorite, thanks to my purchase of a spiralizer (seriously, it makes anything into noodles – how much cooler of an appliance can you get?!), so naturally, we had some Zucchini Noodles with Roasted Tomatoes tossed in Lemon-Garlic Sauce. I made a Slow Cooker Honey Glazed Ham, my mother-in-law made some delicious roasted asparagus, and Parmesan Potato “Bunny Tails” (how cute are these?!).

IMG_7858

 

My cousin made these fantastic “Hatching Chicks”.

IMG_7861

All in all, the spread looked great. The tablecloth ($5 on clearance at Target) looked beautiful and springy. And can we talk about the adorable little bunny place card holders that you can see in the pictures above? $3 each at Target, and then I made my own Easter Menu Items using the business card template on Word. Feel free to edit and use it 🙂

IMG_7857

I got some great assists for dessert. In addition to these super cute chocolate dishes with fruit from my mom and this awesome coconut bunny cake from my other mother-in-law,

IMG_7860 IMG_7864

we also had delicious carrot cake cupcakes and adorable flower pretzels made by my aunt Cindy.

IMG_7865 IMG_7859

I added in some chocolate dipped Peep Pops,

IMG_7862

and my favorite Chai Tea Cookies which I cut into flower shapes (adapted from the kitchn):

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon chai tea mix, from several chai tea bags
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter

Directions

  1. In a standing mixer, add the flour, sugar, powdered sugar, tea mix, and salt.
  2. Add the vanilla and butter. Mix together just until a rough dough is formed. Scrape the dough out of the bowl and form into a log on a piece of wax or parchment paper. Wrap the paper around and roll the log smooth. Chill for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Preheat the oven to 375°F and line a baking sheet with parchment. Slice the chilled log of dough into 1/3-inch-thick pieces. Place on the baking sheet and bake until the edges are just beginning to brown, 10 to 12 minutes. Let cool and store in an airtight container.

We ate and had a great time watching our little guys hunt for Easter eggs. I can’t wait to watch my niece chase them around next year! And then, because I got up at 6:15 on Easter morning to put the ham in the crockpot, dip Peer pops, and finish decorating, I crashed. HARD. At 9pm.

