I was all set to give you the highlights from our Super Bowl party which, for the second time in a row, involved my husband’s beloved Seahawks. I was ready to show food and decor and celebrate the win. And then…well…you saw it. I’m still not ready to talk about it.

So now you get to see the transformation of my third office (yes I said third – that’s what happens when you work everywhere). In my next life, I think I could be a decorator (or a party planner, or a professional organizer). I’m not actually sure that I have the talent to be a decorator that anyone would hire…so maybe I would just be filthy rich and spend all of my time buying and decorating houses for my own enjoyment. Yes, that sounds good. Until then, I am stuck working in a field that I love and respect (I know, it’s a tough life). Being a counselor is undoubtedly what I was meant to do. I’ve been with my agency for a little over four years now, and recently, we decided to expand to serve a new group of youth. Being the (modest) team player that I am, I agreed to help by spending a couple days a week at another site doing screens and offering counseling to the teens there.

To my delight and surprise, I was given a nice office with a sweet little window that lets in lots of sunshine. It had previously been a rarely used tutoring space, so it didn’t really feel quite cozy enough for a counseling space. Enter me. Naturally, since I am slightly crazy and love a good challenge, I took some pictures and was off to the races. I thought I’d share some of the fun I had, so here is the room I started with (after I took down the posters):

IMG_7542 IMG_7543 IMG_7545

 

And here is the space, AFTER.

IMG_7569 IMG_7572

IMG_7570

Super cozy, right?! Here are the highlights:

  • Lighting: I am sort of lucky that I get migraines with overhead lighting because it has taught me that I don’t have to use it. So now, I count on a simple floor lamp, desk lamp, and window in each of my offices. It makes for a cozy feel and keeps me from being sick with a headache. Double win. These lamps are both from Ikea (Floor, Desk), so I spent less than $50 for both. And I have to admit, I’m pretty obsessed with the desk lamp.
  • Speaking of Ikea, I also got the great grey cart that is behind my desk chair for my miscellaneous art supplies and files. It also nicely hides the cords that attach power and internet to my laptop. I didn’t think to take a better picture of that, so here is the website’s. I’m not even bitter that the price has dropped $20 since I bought it. It’s fine, really.                                          raskog-utility-cart-gray__0154992_PE313176_S4
  • Chairs: Chairs on wheels are just NOT going to work when you are seeing anyone under the age of 75 for therapy. It’s like we can’t help but roll around. That, and they were nearly broken. My coworker actually told me to warn people before they sat in the chairs. They had to go. I replaced them with some beautiful, simple light teal dinner chairs from Home Goods. I realized I really didn’t take good pictures of these either…it’s hard to be the new kid on campus and not look like a weirdo taking pictures of your new office, so I had to be quick.
  • Plants: Nothing says, “Please come in and tell me all of your troubles” like a couple of pretty plants. I went with Jade, a cactus, and ivy, three plants that are pretty and apparently pretty hardy. This last part is important since I’ve been known to kill all but the strongest willed plants.
  • Artwork: I smiled when I saw this chairs print at Ikea. It’s so quirky and reminded me of all of the chairs and couches that inhabit therapists’ offices. I’ve never bought so many forms of seating as I have decorating my many offices. So naturally, I had to have the print, and it went perfectly next to my window. BJÄLBO Picture IKEA Motif created by Sasha Blake.</t><t>Mounted picture - ready to hang.I got the canvas prints from Home Goods too (only $12.99!) and framed the miscellaneous prints using random cardstock and $1.99 frames from Ikea. I found some free printables on Pinterest and also made one of my own.         IMG_7573

Mandalas (top left and bottom right)

Andy Warhol quote (top middle): “I like boring things.”

Steve Jobs quote (middle): “The only way to do great work is to love what you do.”

Arrows (top right)

I created the printable for one of my favorite quotes from A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – here you go!  The world was hers for the reading

So there you have it! After Valentine’s Day is over, my son’s next craft is going to be a canvas painting for me to hang on one last wall. All in all, not too shabby for a “shrink”.

