I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday! We did lots of travelling, eating, and opening presents. I’m thoroughly exhausted, but in the best possible way. Thank you so much to everyone who helped make our Christmas so memorable.

Before I start the fun posts about Christmas crafts, however, I have to tie up the loose end of my second week as Martha. If you recall from my last post, I hosted Thanksgiving for 25 people and my son’s third birthday party (40 people) within a week of each other. It gave me a great respect for party planners, whose lives are one big event after the next…and made me realize that my mental health can not withstand another big gathering for some months.

That being said, my little guy’s party was an absolute blast to plan. He is obsessed with Disney Cars and Planes, and for months before his birthday, he requested a “Dusty” (Planes) party, complete with a Dusty cake. Here are some of my favorite parts of his day:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I had been eyeing up the felt cloud garland from Land of Nod for months, and it did not disappoint. How cute! Wants and Wishes Design had an awesome Planes party package. I chose this banner and big sign, along with some tags, and I printed it all on shimmery cardstock paper. I didn’t end up using the tags like I thought I would, so I let Pete the Elf use one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made a “Time Flies” banner to display a few pictures of how fast my little guy is growing. He loved telling me that each picture was of him. Meanwhile, I stifled tears each time I passed by the sign.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I mentioned, a Dusty cake was requested. I am by no means a cake baker or decorator, so thank you to Redners for this adorable (and delicious) cake. I did supply the planes, but I can’t take any more credit than that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I can, however, take credit for the Fueling Station (resized from View from the Ville). I also resized the In Flight Snacks sign (my mom made the delicious snacks themselves – pretzel and rolo sandwiches! YUM).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These cupcakes (also something I can take credit for) were an absolute hit at the party.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Wrapper template from Shnookers

Finally, the favors might have been my favorite part of the party. I got the “Baggage Claim” sign offline somewhere, and ordered the luggage tags from Bonanza. The suitcases are just animal crackers wrapped in kraft paper. I used black construction paper to make the handles and straps. The foam planes/gliders were by Hallmark (I got them off ebay, but I’ve seen them on lots of sites). These turned out just like I was hoping, and were such a great focal point when people came into the party.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a pretty good day, and I took a pretty good rest after all was said and done. I even gave myself a few days of zero creativity and motivation. It was glorious. Then I realized Christmas was only a couple weeks away, panicked, and resumed cutting, gluing, and crafting at record speed. Oh to walk a mile in Martha’s shoes…

 

