So let’s talk about bread. I’ve never been a huge bread person – I’m never going to tell you I’m craving a sandwich, and my husband thinks I’m crazy because I don’t like the pumpernickel bread they give you at restaurants. Every now and again, I’ll have a truly noteworthy roll (Bertucci’s, anyone?!), but that’s about the extent of it. Give my general “eh” approach to bread and my fear of using things like “active yeast” and doing things like “kneading”, a world-class baker I will never be.

BUT, thanks to the wonderful world of Pinterest, I have found that there really are simple, fun breads that I am capable of making and capable of making in less than 5 hours. I am far too impatient to let yeast rise three separate times before baking it.

If you are like me, I think you will thoroughly enjoy these three easy bread recipes, all of which can be made on a whim, and none of which require any kneading. I was only slightly disappointed in this last part because I haven’t gotten to use the dough hook on my standing mixer yet. My husband has used it to make pizza dough, so there’s that. He makes some crazy good pizza dough… mmmmmmmm.

FOCUS.

Okay, so the first recipe comes from My Kitchen Addiction, but it seems like they might have gotten this recipe from another source with permission. To save myself from a copyright infringement issue, I will allow you to go to the link if you want to make this. I will also permit you to ogle my delicious looking pictures.

IMG_6096

What active yeast looks like, hard at work

IMG_6098

Yeast and dry materials combined

IMG_6099

 Ready for the oven!

IMG_6101

 YUMMY final product

Next up is a White Cheddar Yogurt Cornbread that is so delicious, it made its way onto the Thanksgiving Menu. That is like celebrity status for a bread, in case you weren’t sure. I kind of sucked with the picture taking on this one. As in, there aren’t any. My bad. Luckily, if you click on the link, Emily has some lovely shots.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup frozen corn kernels
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp + pinch salt
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 3/4 cup shredded white cheddar (or other) cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Combine the cornmeal, flour, corn kernels, baking soda, sugar, and 1/2 tsp salt in a large mixing bowl. Sprinkle in the cayenne pepper.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine Greek yogurt, 2 eggs, almond milk, and butter.
  4. Shred your cheese.
  5. Mix the wet ingredients with the dry, and then fold in almost all of the cheese.
  6. Spread the batter into a greased baking pan, and sprinkle the remaining cheese (and the extra pinch of salt) on top.
  7. Bake for 30 minutes, or until it is golden brown and smells heavenly.

Finally, Table for Seven’s Garlic Cheddar Quick Bread. I will warn you ahead of time that this bread has a dense, almost cornbread-like texture to it. It is truly scrumptious, but a little different. We buttered this up and ate it with a buffalo chicken chili that was DE. LICIOUS. To make up for my lack of pictures on the last bread, here are oodles of them, plus the link for the chili. I hope I am forgiven.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried Italian seasoning
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 egg

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease your loaf pan.
  2. Mix together flour, baking powder, sugar, garlic powder and Italian seasoning. IMG_7138
  3. In another bowl, mix milk, egg and canola oil until well combined. IMG_7139
  4. Combine dry and wet ingredients. IMG_7140
  5. Mix until combined, and then fold in cheddar cheese.
  6. Pour into your pan and sprinkle with some more Italian seasoning. IMG_7142
  7. Bake for 1 hour. Dig in. IMG_7143

This buffalo chicken chili will pair nicely with that last bread, or really any of them, now that I think about it.

IMG_7144 IMG_7145 IMG_7146 IMG_7147

See? Bread isn’t so scary. Now go enjoy that carb coma.

