I hope everyone had a nice Halloween…despite all of my bad-mouthing of the holiday, I did have a nice time walking around and watching my little guy tell anyone who would ask that he was an astronaut. The aftermath – way too much candy – is another reason why this holiday must go. Who needs to have twix bars, milky ways, and m&ms staring them down every time they go into the kitchen?! Not this girl.

Anywho, it is officially November, which means that I can start sharing some of my cozy recipes again. I have been cooking up a storm, which is pretty standard for this time of year. We put the grill away, our schedule becomes a little more regular, and, as it is dark by 4:30pm, we are in the house and ready for a good meal most nights. Apparently this year is going to be the year of soup in the Myrick house, as I have recently learned that making soup is not nearly as hard as I always assumed. I don’t even know why I always assumed this, but I have proven myself wrong twice in the last two weeks, so I wanted to share those successful recipes with you. Both are easy and go great with salad and bread…I’ve also been trying out some bread recipes since I learned that active yeast is not scary. Another post.

Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup (altered slightly from Chef-In-Training*)

I was so excited to try this one because I’ve never been big on brothy soups. I end up eating all of the “good stuff” out and leaving a bowl of sad looking broth. This creamy version is absolutely delicious and so hearty. Plan ahead a little for this one – it takes about 90 minutes when all is said and done.

* Note: Chef-in-Training has some amazing recipes. Check her out!

Ingredients 

Base of Soup

  • 8 cups water
  • 2-3 chicken breasts
  • ½ medium sweet onion, minced
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. celery salt
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • 2 chicken bullion cubes, ground up into powder (I bought the packs of powdered cubes –  less mess)
  • 1 bag of carrot chips
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2-3 cups thick homestyle egg noodles
Cream Sauce
  • ½ cup butter
  • ½ cup flour
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • ½ tsp. salt

Directions

  1. Fill a large stock pot with 8 cups of water. Place raw chicken breasts in water. Add onion, salt, celery salt, onion powder, powdered chicken bullion cubes, carrots, celery and bay leaf. Stir a little bit just to combine flavors evenly. Cover with lid.
  2. Cook over medium-high (closer to high) heat and let boil for about an hour.
  3. Uncover. Remove bay leaf and discard. Shred chicken (or chop it into small cubes as suggested in the original recipe).
  4. Add noodles and about 1 more cup of water to the stock pot. Bring back to a boil for 20 minutes. (If your water is low, you can add more water if needed, but don’t go overboard. Remember that you have an entire cream sauce to add in there at the end. I probably added another 1/2 cup or so as the noodles cooked)
  5. While noodles are boiling, make cream recipe. In a medium bowl, combine milk and cream and stir to combine the two. Set bowl aside.
  6. In a large sauce pan over medium heat, melt ½ cup butter completely. Once butter is melted, add flour and stir constantly to form roux. Cook roux for about 1-2 minutes.
  7. Slowly add milk to roux stirring constantly and not adding anymore until each milk addition is thoroughly mixed in.
  8. Once desired thickness has been reached, stir in garlic salt and salt to the white sauce.
  9. Once noodles have boiled for about 20 minutes or until done, add chicken back into the base.
  10. Next pour and stir in white sauce to evenly combine. Stir over medium heat until it reaches desired consistency.

IMG_6988

Sweet Potato Soup (thanks Kathy, for the inspiration!)

I still can’t get over how quickly I made this soup! The other thing that I like is that it’s vegan…I try to do one meatless meal per week, which sometimes goes well and sometimes does not. This one went well.  Kathy also suggested adding blending in canned white beans or adding cinnamon, black pepper, cayenne, lime juice, parsley or chopped spinach served over top for added nutrition and taste. I didn’t do any of that this first time, but might try it in the future.

Ingredients (this recipe only makes 1-2 bowls, so double, triple, or quadruple as necessary)

  • the flesh of two baked sweet potatoes
  • 3/4 cup vegetable broth (you can add more to thin out)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or soy milk)
  • a pinch of orange zest
  • a few pinches of salt
  • 1/2 tsp of chipotle powder (more if you want a bigger kick)
  • 2 diced avocados (for garnish)
  • crushed tortilla chips (for garnish)

Directions

  1. So here’s where I got lazy. Since I knew I didn’t need the skin of the sweet potatoes, I microwaved these to speed up the process. To do that, scrub your potatoes really well, and poke holes in them with your fork. Then put them in the microwave for 2-5 minutes, flip them over, and then for another 5 minutes. If they aren’t soft enough to poke a fork straight through, add another minute until they are ready. (If you want to do it the right way, put your scrubbed potatoes in your over and cook them at 400 degrees until soft.)
  2. Scoop out the flesh of the potatoes. Make sure you get it all!                  IMG_7026
  3. Add the potatoes, broth, and milk into your blender. Blend on low until smooth. Add the salt and spices to taste.
  4. Remove from the blender and stir in the zest.
  5. Warm it over medium heat on the stove until the desired temperature.
  6. Serve with avocado and chips over top. IMG_7027

Don’t these sound easy and delicious?! Go ahead and try them. Looking for an additional challenge? Find a way to work in calling them “souper” to your dinner guests 😉

