After daycare and work the other night, my little guy and I had a dinner date. For us, a dinner date entails a (1) relatively fast recipe – no four course meals for us – that (2) he can help with – lots of pouring and mixing, and (3) minimal clean up since it’s just the two of us, and I hate to spend that time doing dishes. Being a working mom is hard in so many ways, but one of the hardest is not getting to spend much time with my little man who is growing SO fast I can’t stand it. Who wants to spend that time doing dishes when I could be flying airplanes around my house or building a fort?!

This week’s dinner date was a major success, so in addition to the “make again” list, it also made the “to blog” list. These turkey meatballs with Parmesan sauce were a great twist on meatballs without being overly complicated. I mean, really, what is the point of complex meatballs? Are they really that much more delicious to warrant an hour of prep time? I challenge anyone who says yes. My mom makes awesome meatballs and they are simple and filled with deliciousness. In my opinion, meatballs are in the category of things that should be simple, along with lasagna and chocolate chip cookies. I realize that I probably just opened the floodgates for all of the people who swear by just a tiny bit of chili pepper or pickle juice in their chocolate chip cookies. But it’s my blog, so I’ll say what I want to.

Turkey Meatballs with Creamy Parmesan Sauce (from Will Cook for Smiles)

Ingredients

Meatballs:

  • 1.25 lb ground turkey
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs (I used Italian)
  • 1/4 cup shaved Parmesan cheese (I used shredded; I don’t think it made a difference)
  • 1 clove of garlic (1/2 tsp if you are using minced)
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped yellow onion
  • 1 tsp minced parsley
  • a sprinkling of salt
  • 2 Tbsp oil for cooking

Sauce:

  • 1 cup of heavy cream
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 cup shaved Parmesan cheese (again I used shredded)
  • Roux: 1/2 tbsp soft butter + 1/2 Tbsp flour (who knew?)
  • 1 tsp minced parsley
  • salt to taste

Directions

  1. Combine all meatball ingredients (except for oil) in a large bowl. Might I suggest this onion peeler to assist you in your onion chopping? This awesome gift from my cousin allows you to slice through those first couple layers that you throw away, and majorly cut down on mess (and onion-related tears) too. Thanks, Lauren!
  2. Form into balls (I made mine small to medium sized).
  3. Heat oil in a non-stick pan over medium heat. Put your meatballs in and start browning, turning frequently so that they cook evenly. photo 1 photo 5
  4. Meanwhile, in a small sauce pot, heat up heavy cream on medium heat. Add Parmesan cheese, garlic and salt. Cook, stirring slowly, until all the cheese is melted. Whisk in roux add parsley once sauce starts to thicken. Cook for a couple more minutes before taking off heat. It will thicken up a bit more once the heat is removed.
  5. Top your meatballs with the sauce – yummmm. photo 4
  6. Pair with literally any side. We made rice in the rice cooker while the meatballs were browning and steamed some veggies. I didn’t realize until it was too late that I had steamed a veggie mixture that included potatoes, so we went carb crazy for this meal. I have zero regrets.                                                                            photo 3

While we ate, the sauce pot soaked, and after dinner, everything was cleaned up in 5 minutes. Then it was off to fly planes, build with Legos, and dance in Elmo’s band. Top that for a date night.

