This rain is majorly dragging down the joy I was beginning to feel with the start of spring. I know “April showers bring May flowers” and all that junk, but really? Flood warnings?!

I figured that since there is only one part of my family that is loving this rain, I’d focus today’s post on it. My plants. Or I should say, my son’s plants.

About one month ago, we began working on our herb and vegetable garden. First, my little man and I made him a “snacking garden”. I had seen it somewhere on Pinterest (shocking), and thought it sounded like a great idea. He had a blast digging holes and pouring seedlings into the ground. His favorite part has been watering them and making stakes to label the seeds.

deck2

photo 2

For these stakes, all you need is some acrylic paint, a sharpie, two sizes of popsicle sticks (we used regular and mini), and some hot glue. I later learned that we should have used outdoor glue, as the rain did not treat the hot glue kindly. I am currently in the process of repairing said stakes.

photo 3

Top row: tomato plant, strawberry plant

Middle row: red onions, sugar snap peas, red potatoes

Bottom row: green beans

Next, we planted thyme, rosemary, basil, chives, oregano, and lavender on our deck, using adorable gardening pots that I found at JoAnn’s. My little guy even gave me some red onions and potatoes to plant, when we ran out of room in his snacking garden. He and I were pretty happy with our results.

deck deck3 deck4

I love these labelled wine corks. Lord knows I have a few of those lying around. All I did was write on them, stick them on a bamboo skewer (which I broke in half) and stick it in my planters. No glue, no mess, less than 5 minutes. That’s my kind of craft. These, fortunately, have held up beautifully in the weather.

About a week ago, I took a couple pictures of our progress. Just goes to show that even if I am lazy and forget to post, I’m always thinking of you, dear readers 🙂

We haven’t been too successful with our herb seedlings on the “Grow” stand. I have a feeling we need to drill holes in the bottom so that the seeds don’t drown. We just replanted some more and are hoping we get some sprouts. I have a feeling that our tomato plant might have frozen in the unseasonably cold weather last week, and although our strawberry plant is growing, animals keep eating off the product, so I need to figure that out. These may be the reasons I have not attempted to grow my own food before.

We are, however, getting some tall, green growth from our red onions, potatoes, and sugar snap peas, which has my little gardener very excited. In the time since I’ve taken these pictures, they have grown even more, but I wasn’t feeling a photo shoot in the torrential downpours this week. I’ll try to update you again soon.

photo 1 photo 2

Green fingers crossed that we grow at least one thing that can be eaten this season!

 

 

