Don’t get too excited – these are still actually dinner items. But I got to make them using my cupcake tin – how fun! A big thank you to a close family friend, Petey, who passed this recipe from Emily Bites along. Actually, she did less passing along and more telling me “I saw this and decided you need to make it”. But hey, I’ll take it. Who doesn’t love a good recipe, after all.

The premise of this is quite delicious: make a concoction resembling Chicken Parmesan and encase it in won ton wrappers. I was excited to try it. It is not often that both my husband increasingly-picky little man on board with a new recipe, but they both gobbled this up (and so did I). Any time we can all enjoy a meal equally, it gets promoted to “must make again” status, and in the months since I began posting, “must share on blog” status as well.

Ingredients (adapted slightly from Emily Bites; yields 12)

  • 2 cans of chicken (I used Swanson)

I used this instead of cooking and dicing/shredding chicken (2 cups if you want to do it that way). It made prep time super fast, and I’ve found that it is a good addition to any chicken mixture you might make. Another great canned chicken meal? Avocado Chicken Salad (just combine one can chicken, 2-3 avocados, 1/2 lime worth of lime juice, a handful of green onions and chopped cilantro, and s&p to taste.)

  • 1 cup pasta sauce
  • 3/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 24 wonton wrappers (you can find a pack of them in the produce section)
  • 1 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup crushed croutons (I used Italian seasoned and crushed in a baggie with my hands – I felt slightly like a superhero, crushing things with my bare hands)
  • 2 teaspoons grated Parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Lightly mist cups in a muffin tin with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. In a bowl, combine chicken, pasta sauce and Italian seasoning. photo 1
  3. Push a won ton wrapper into the bottom of each of the cups in the muffin tin. Using about half of the chicken mixture, spoon evenly into the wrappers. Sprinkle about half of the Mozzarella cheese over the top of each cup.      photo 2 photo 4
  4. Press another won ton on top and repeat the layering steps with the remaining chicken mixture and Mozzarella.
  5. Mix together the crushed croutons and Parmesan cheese in a small bowl and sprinkle it evenly over each cup.   photo 5
  6. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool for several minutes before removing from muffin tin.                done

I served this with some pasta and the rest of the sauce from the jar I had opened for the cupcakes, as well as some mixed veggies.

done2

It was delicious, filling, and felt like a guilty pleasure because it was a cupcake at dinnertime. Plus, the won tons satisfied my garlic bread cravings that usually accompany pasta night, so it was a nice change from the usually meat sauce, pasta, Texas toast meal we have in our regular rotation.

Thanks again, Petey!

