So, I didn’t post last week. I’m disappointed that my weekly stretch didn’t last longer, but who are we kidding? It was bound to happen. I have good reasons, really. I took on a tough new case at work, went to a great full-day conference on Friday, and celebrated the start of a new baseball season on Monday with an Orioles win at Camden Yards.

This week is also a little crazy, so I’m going to post about a yummy dinner I made on a whim a couple Fridays ago. This one is simple, quick, delicious, and great for any season. Greek Lemon Soup is something I grew up eating any time we visited my grandparents in Florida. We’d go down to Tarpon Springs, watch the sponge divers, and then go and eat some delicious Greek food. My Poppy would speak Greek to all of the waiters, and I would eat to my 1/4-Greek hearts’ content.

My aunt makes a delicious Greek soup, and the last time we had it, my little guy couldn’t get enough. When I messaged her to get the recipe, I got back two pictures of an old recipe card, which reminded me just how long this has been a meal my family enjoyed.

Egg Lemon Soup

Ingredients

  • 64 oz chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup uncooked rice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 eggs
  • juice of 1 lemon

Directions

  1. Bring chicken stock to a boil in a large saucepan.
  2. Add rice and simmer until rice is tender, about 20 minutes.
  3. Add salt and pepper to taste (easy on salt).
  4. In a soup sized bowl, beat eggs and add lemon juice.
  5. Slowly ladle hot soup into the egg mixture, enough to fill the bowl. If you add too quickly, the egg will cook, so go slowly. I whisked the bowl with one hand while I poured with the other.
  6. Take saucepan off heat. Stir egg mixture into larger saucepan of soup and let stand for 5 minutes.

photo 1

 Cut up some fresh bread and mix up a simple green salad to go alongside this light soup. Give to the hungry mouths in your house and watch them enjoy!

photo 2

 

