This has been one of those black-hole kind of weeks. My courses are on spring break, which meant I only had to work about 48 hours. But somehow, someway, it is Friday afternoon and I have accomplished only a small morsel of the things I wanted to this week. My To Do list has not translated into as many Hooray For You things as I would have hoped.

Coincidentally, I found this great article recently about giving yourself one hour per week to accomplish tasks you usually put off. They called it the “Power Hour” which I kind of liked. It made it sound like a game, which is sort of fun, and it promised that I only needed to commit for an hour, which works well for me.

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/health/wellness/get-more-stuff-done

The other, main, reason that I thought I’d give it a try was that it sort of went along with the 40 organizational projects in 6 months thing that I have going right now. I am totally on board with this whole “don’t kill yourself” idea. And you know what? Power hours can be incredibly powerful when you walk away having accomplished something great. A snapshot of how I been spending my power hours over the past couple of weeks:

Organizing my craft closet, using all of my Thirty-One goodies, some paper towel racks for ribbons, and a big ol’ trash can for unwanted, unneeded items.

photo 5 (12)

photo 1 photo 2

Making a first-aid basket, using a cross stencil from the Cricut and some red paint and then re-organizing my linen closet to fit said basket, another basket for the floor, and an adorable flip flop patterned caddy (Thirty One) for sunscreen and bug spray. I promised you I’d use those baskets from the Michael’s sale a couple weeks ago.

photo 1

photo

photo 3 (26)

Cleaning out my jewelry box and creating a new space for my fun necklaces. All you need? A 4-key hanging rack ($5 at Target) and decorative knobs ($15 – yes 3 times as much as the actual rack. Shhhh.). Replace the hooks with knobs, hang in your closet, and notice how pretty your necklaces are when they aren’t knotted together and shoved in a drawer.

photo 1 (27)

Commemorating St. Patrick’s Day with a shamrock shake and my little man.

photo 2 (28)

Shamrock Shake (from Craving Comfort)

2 cups vanilla ice cream
1 1/4 cup milk
1/4 tsp mint extract
6-9 drops of green food coloring
whipped cream (optional)
chocolate syrup (optional)

Put ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Top with whipped cream and chocolate syrup.

Ahhhhhhh. Sweet success.

