Simply put, it has been a long week. As I stared at my plain, boring walls this week amid cancelled clients and long phone calls, I decided that my office walls could use some sprucing up. After all, I spend more time here than anywhere else. Sad, but true. Do the math, you might be with me on this one.

When I went full-time at my agency last summer, I had wanted to do this corkboard project, but just never got time to get over to JoAnn’s fabric to make it happen. This week, I made it happen, and I’m so happy I did because JoAnn’s is having a huge sale! Also, in case you are need of new baskets, which we know I always am, Michael’s is also having a huge sale. 50-60% off ALL baskets. I have big plans for my purchases including a linen closet overhaul, but I’d be lying if I said that just this view of my trunk after leaving Michael’s wasn’t enough to make me giddy:

photo 1 (23)

No, you are not mistaken, there are six baskets in there. And a planter. And a bag of additional craft goodies. Oh my.

But back to JoAnn’s. Guys, I really need to learn how to sew. I must have wandered around the fabric section for like 20 minutes, envisioning all of these things I could do. If only I could sew. It’s on the list for the year, so there is hope. I finally landed on four fabrics for my cork boards. I also picked out two fabrics for a later project, and found this awesome Irish-inspired burlap, that I have some plans for this weekend. But for this project, I chose a coral/silver chevron, a teal/light teal bigger chevron, green dots, and cream with gold dots:

photo 2 (24)

Other materials needed for this project:

  • Round cork trivets (I got mine from Target, $3.99/2pack; Ikea sells them as well)
  • Hot glue gun
  • Rotary cutter or scissors
  • Paper plate
  • Pen
  • Some sort of adhesive for the boards once they are finished (I used Scotch’s 3m extreme mounting tape, found in the section of target where you can get those removable plastic hooks for your walls)

Instructions:

1. Place your fabric with the design face down, and cut off a square. I loved these fabrics so I got a yard of each, even though you literally only need 1/4 of a yard.

 photo 3 (21)

2. Using your paper plate, trace and cut out a circle from your fabric.

photo 4 (11)

photo 5 (9)

3. Center your cork trivet on the face down fabric and apply hot glue around the entire outer edge of the trivet. Begin pulling the fabric tightly around the cork and pressing down to secure in the glue. You may need to reapply glue, as it does dry pretty quickly.

photo 1 (24)

4. Flip it over and check for bumpy edges. You may need to pull a couple of the edges more tightly so that the circular shape is smooth.

 photo 2 (25)

Easy right?! I barely suffered any hot glue burns either which is a major win. I made four, one in each fabric, and then really regretted not buying more trivets. I hung them on one of my bare walls and added some sweet cards I have received from clients, pictures, etc.

photo 3 (22)

I love that I was able to get a few more patterns into my office, and hope that I motivated you to spruce up a bare wall or boring space in your office. Happy Friday!

photo (21)

