In case you were laying awake at night wondering, so far, I have completed 11 of my 40 organizational tasks!  I’m feeling pretty proud of myself, and my proudest accomplishment thus far has been the purge and redo of my closet.

I love my house. I mean love. How we got it is one of my favorite stories, and one of the reasons I love my husband so much. The short version is the we had a house fall through a few months before my son was born, which meant we stayed in our townhouse longer than we planned. When we started looking at houses again, we found this one on the day it was listed and immediately called our realtor. She is a wonderful woman who you call and say “We want to see a house today,” and she says, “I’ll be there in an hour.” I have no idea how, with this work ethic, she has time for anything else. I have visions of her, ready with a fork in her hand, ready to devour a meal she’s been preparing for an hour, when she gets a call from me and immediately abandons her post. She is awesome. Anyway, we fell in love with this house immediately, but after we put in our offer and the owner verbally accepts it, he decides he isn’t ready to commit to the offer, and I am devastated. Fast forward a few weeks, his realtor calls our realtor, opens up negotiations again. My fiercely protective husband tells me nothing of this, for fear that it will fall through and I’ll once again be devastated. After all is said and done and the offer is accepted, he gives me a card with the signed offer inside. I don’t brag about him much (although I would have plenty to brag about), but this story is definitely one of his top 5 moments of awesomeness.

Wow, I really just went down a rabbit hole there, didn’t I? How does this relate to my closet?! Oh yeah – so I love  our house, but in moving to it, I did lose an amazing walk-in closet from our townhouse. This closet is fine, but definitely not as spacious, and being that I am spoiled, it was a challenge to get everything in there. When you struggle to condense a huge walk-in into a small closet, you get something like this:

photo 1 (16)

In other words: SCARY. This little closet was at the tippy top of my organizing list. I started with a purge to end all purges. I sorted, one item at a time, into Keep, Trash, and Donate piles. I purged my clothes, shoes, purses, and accessories. I traveled over to the other side of the room where I purged more clothes from my dresser. FOUR huge trash bags later, I was feeling pretty good. Purging is slightly dangerous…I got to a point where I was barely looking at things. I’d look, say, “I didn’t even know I still had this,” and immediately put it in the donate pile. It’s freeing and yet terrifying at the same time. Kind of like zip lining. I took the trash bags to a friend’s house, where she picked out some things that she liked, some friends and family laid claim to purses and scarves, and the rest went to Goodwill.

The wonderful husband I mentioned above offered to add some build-in shelves to help my cause. He put shelves up top for my shoes, and shelves down one side to enable more folded clothes and less hanging stuff.

photo 2 (17)

I read somewhere that you have to be willing to spend some money when you re-organize. Fortunately, this has never been a problem for me. I got matching, thin velvet hangers. Expensive ($9.99/25), but totally worth it. I bought 50 and have committed not to buy any more. That means that for every hanging thing I purchase, one has to go. It also means that I have to keep my drawers neater because more is folded and put away, and I hate ironing in the morning. I went to HomeGoods (The best store. Ever.), where I got super cute matching baskets for my accessories, and a little folding stool to help me reach my new shoes shelves.

photo 3 (13)

(Box, $9.99 each)

photo 4 (7)

(Small box, top left, $9.99; Bigger box, bottom left, $12.99; jewelry box re-purposed for belts, $5.99)

photo (19)

(Stool, $12.99)

After the shelves were painted, they looked like they had been there all along.

photo (18)

(Biggest box, bottom right, $16.99)

Good news? I can actually see my clothes, and I have been wearing many more of them. Better news? I am motivated to keep my closet clean because it looks so pretty. Best news? Now we have a new hiding place when we play hide-n-seek.

photo 5 (5)

                          BEFORE                                           AFTER

photo 1 (16) photo (18)

