First of all, congratulations to the Seattle Seahawks on their dominating win over the Denver Broncos last night! My husband and his family are from Seattle, so this was a very exciting night in our household. My husband’s hangover this morning also proves that we had a pretty great party to celebrate last night. We had some people over last year, but it was somewhat last minute and very low key. This year, I wanted to go all out since the Seahawks were starring in the big game.

I started with decor. The planner I talked about a couple posts back is quickly becoming one of my closest friends. It comes everywhere with me, so I punching holes in the magazine pages and articles that I’m always saving. I figured this way, I can actually remember why I saved the magazine, use the information, and cut down on clutter. Win Win. When I started planning out the Super Bowl party, I grabbed one of the Better Home & Gardens pages that had an adorable paper football field table runner from Hester & Cook. After debating on the price for about 5 seconds, I went for it. I am so glad I did – the quality was great, and the shipping speed was definitely my speed ( two days – what?!). Their stuff is fantastic, and I will definitely be inviting both Hester and Cook to future events that I host.

In terms of other decorations, I wanted to keep it simple. I personally love the navy and lime green colors that the Seahawks have been sporting for the past couple of seasons, so I went with lime and blue bowls (from the dollar store!), and Super Bowl logo plates from Party City. Why not?  I also got a couple football balloons, which my son loved banging around and keeping in his “fort”.

photo 1 (13)

Using the ever-awesome Cricut, I made a sign that fit perfectly over my server where the dessert was set up.

photo 1 (11) photo 2 (12)photo 3 (9)

I forgot to take a “finished product” picture before I hung the banner up, but I connected the triangles by gluing their backs to a lime green chevron ribbon and then folding the ribbon over the top and gluing it down.

photo (13)

If you don’t have a Cricut, who I appear to be a never-ending endorser for, Michael’s does sell pre-cut triangles (and circles). Please don’t cut them all out by hand…that is just no fun.

For food, we went with a chili bar. My husband makes some pretty delicious chili, so we let it simmer in the crock pot all day. When we were ready to eat, I put out the yummy toppings: red onion, green onion, cilantro, guacamole, cheddar cheese, and sour cream. My dad supplied amazing wings from Philadelphia, and our friends brought some tasty pulled pork. It was a team effort in the food department, for sure.

“Manly” Chili

  • 2 lb ground beef, browned
  • 1 can red kidney beans, drained
  • 3 small cans tomato paste (2 roasted garlic, 1 regular)
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 1 orange pepper, chopped
  • 1 green onion chopped
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 bottle beer (whatever kind you like)
  • 1 “Original” flavor chili seasoning packet
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (we usually go with basil, garlic, oregano flavor)
  • 1 can water
  • 1-2 tsp ground cumin
Combine in the crock pot and let cook on LOW for 8 hours or HIGH for anything less.

photo 1 (12)

photo 5 (3)

photo (14)

My homemade chalk board really brought it all together. I have been hoarding saving this broken Ikea frame for almost two years. It used to hang in my private practice office, but when we moved offices two springs ago, the glass broke. I replaced the frame but couldn’t bring myself to part with this one. I kept it at work so that my husband didn’t purposely mistakenly throw it away, thinking it was trash. Last week, I realized that I finally knew what I could use it for!  I took the broken glass out, painted a piece of cardboard with chalkboard paint, and a chalkboard was born.

Last stop was dessert. Funfetti cupcakes with lime green frosting, football covered strawberries, Skittles for Marshawn Lynch, and some heart cookies (we love the Seahawks!), and our party was complete.

photo 2 (13) photo 3 (10)

photo 4 (5)

My husband took care of the adult beverages, which included lime green margaritas, and we all had a blast. I think the snow day that seems to be happening today will be a welcome break from reality for anyone who had one bowl of chili (or margarita) too many last night. My son is still coming down from the sugar high you can only get after consuming countless skittles and only the icing part of a cupcake. Oh the irony.

photo 2 (14)

