Sometimes getting a healthy, pretty looking meal is the best I can do in terms of creativity. I really do enjoy cooking and was super excited to try this recipe, from Better Balanced Life:

Chicken Rolls with Asparagus & Mozzarella (See original recipe here).

Here are the ingredients I used:

  • 4 chicken breasts, pounded thin
  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 2 cups mozzarella cheese
  • salt and pepper, for seasoning chicken (about three turns of my salt and pepper mills each)
  • 1 cup parmesan and herb bread crumbs

Here are the directions I followed:

  1. Sautee asparagus in olive oil until bright green (about 3-5 minutes)
  2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  3. Spray a baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.
  4. Pat chicken dry and lightly season with salt and pepper.
  5. Lay out chicken breast, arrange asparagus on top, and sprinkle with mozzarella.
  6. Roll chicken around asparagus and cheese; place seam down in baking dish.
  7. Repeat with remaining chicken breasts.
  8. Sprinkle bread crumbs on top of chicken.
  9. Cook for approximately 10 minutes* or until chicken registers 160/165 degrees with a meat thermometer.

So #9. It is a well-known fact that my oven really sucks. I mean really. I estimate that most things take approximately twice as long as the directions say. My in-laws were bringing my son back and having dinner with us, so I got home nice and early so that I had plenty of time. I thoroughly enjoyed cooking without a toddler’s head between my knees, tripping over any toys, or breaking to check when my son had been quiet and out of my sight for a little too long. I put the chicken in with enough time to give it 40 minutes to cook. In case you only skimmed over the directions, that is four times as long as the recipe calls. Granted, the original chef had gone back onto her post and updated it to say that sometimes the chicken takes longer, but still. There was no way the chicken wouldn’t be ready.

I made some delicious mexicorn risotta to go with it. If you haven’t ever used mexicorn before, you totally should. And if you’ve been scared off by how fancy risotta sounds, you must try it.  Thank you to A Few Short Cuts for this baby. I was especially grateful for this recipe on the night in question, as it fed my hungry dinner guests while my chicken took its sweet time cooking.

Creamy Mexicorn Risotto

 
Ingredients
  • 3 Cups Chicken Broth
  • 3 cloves finely chopped garlic (or 1tbsp minced from jar)
  • ¾ cup water
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 cup uncooked Arborio or regular medium grain white rice
  • 2 cans (11 oz) Green Giant Steam Crisp Mexicorn
  • ¾ cup Shredded Monterrey Jack Cheese
  • ½ cup chopped fresh cilantro
Directions
  1. In a 10 Inch Nonstick Skillet, heat ⅓ cup of the broth to boiling. Cook garlic in broth 1 minute stirring occasionally
  2. Stir in remaining broth, water, rice,chili powder, and corn. Heat to boiling; reduce heat to medium. Cook uncovered 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally until rice is tender and creamy.
  3. Remove from heat, and stir in cheese and cilantro.
  4. Serve hot.

Sadly, although my mexicorn was ready to hang out alongside its chicken companion, it’s buddy was not. In fact, it took about another 20 minutes for this damn chicken to be cooked all the way through. ONE HOUR. When it was finally done, it looked beautiful, if I do say so myself:

photo

It was also pretty delicious. However, that was totally not the point. I was so frustrated! So I’m not sure if this counts as a pinterest fail, since it was tasty and looked nice too, but I would say that it confirmed for me that we need a new oven. Immediately. Or, it confirmed that my toaster oven may be getting the next gameday start with the oven taking a seat on the bench.

